Emcmatt's Blog


Spring Break Trip to an Art Gallery
March 15, 2010, 6:47 pm
Filed under: Sketchbook

On Thursday March 11th , I went to the Currier Art Museum in Manchester, New Hampshire. The Currier has many interesting collections ranging from classic sculpture, traditional paintings, artfully blown glass, antique furniture, and detailed technical drawings. It had a large exhibition on American watercolor paintings, from artists such as Edward Hopper. I found this collection extremely beautiful, and I felt as if I was able to catch a glimpse of our nation’s history simply by examining paintings all from the same era. The contemporary art collection also inspired me. Although I didn’t recognize many of the artists like I did in most of the paintings, the perceptual anonymity made the art even more interesting. While I identified the contemporary sculptures from Alexander Calder, I observed very interesting work from other artists. It was interesting to encounter modern work that contrasted to the traditional art that the Currier had that were centuries old. It was a good experience to see how our perception of art changed throughout time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

